Well,

I'm an avid bassist and play with many local groups and want to broaden my horizons and become more proficient with guitar in my free time this summer.

I have probably around $300 - $400(US) to spend.

As a bassist I have no specific genre. This year, I have played a lot of Jazz Funk/Gospel. In the past I have played a fair amount of rock too(a pretty wide variety - anything from Sabbath to Iron Maiden to Pearl Jam to Boston), just not recently.

I was looking for a guitar that could sort of complement what I do on bass. I know those three genre's are rather diverse and different.

And one last constraint on my purchase is that I was looking at Epi's. Not necessarily because I like them a lot, but just that the store I shop at regularly carries a lot of them, so I have good selection and service with them.

thanks in andvance for any advice you can give.
Quote by Sonicxlover
I once told a Metallica fan I liked Megadeth, and he stabbed me 42 times.
I think if you put a coil tap/split into an Epi LP, you could get those genres dore pretty well. Maybe something with P-90s, or maybe just replace one or both of the pickups with something like Duncan Phat Cats, which are humbucker-sized P-90s.
I'd look at Fender Basses. They are usually solid basses. You can get a good one for $300-400. And they last for a good amount of time if you do all you're sposed to as far as takin care of em. If you spend bout $50 more than wat you have now (so you'd need to get $50 more), you can get a Fender Precision Bass for $449.99 on musiciansfriend.com. Here's the link, http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Fender-Standard-Precision-Bass?sku=516041. I'm sure you could also find it used at a local guitar shop for cheaper. (Maybe you'd have to drive a lil ways tho.) But these Basses, I've heard are great. Look at the reviews at the link there.