Hi guys,

I've been playing guitar for a few years now and was thinking of getting rid of my first guitar, Westfield E1000. I got it because it was cheap and i didn't know if i'd stick to the guitar but since then i've moved onto using a strat. So, as I say i was thinking of getting rid of it but i had the thought of maybe doing it up and making it at least half decent.

So basically i'm just looking for some basic high level advice on what i would need to do, how long it would take, the cost and is it really worth trying to do it up.

As i say, i have absolutley no experience in this field at all but hey, we all got to start somewhere eh?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Well, the place to start is to replace the pickups. I don't know haw long it would take, since I've never done it before, but it doesn't seem too hard. The cost would vary depending on which new pups you buy.

If you want, I can email you a book that will tell you everything you need to know about modifying your guitar.

Joe
Quote by Kensai

Awesome guy right here
Hi joeval,

That would be brilliant, its something i'd very much like to learn.
Replacing pickups is definitely good. Pretty easy too, if you have some basic soldering skills (and a soldering iron, solder, etc.). You buy the pickups, they have two (or four) wires sticking out, and you solder the two or four wires into your guitar after removing the old pickups. You can find soldering guides online.
Gear:
Schecter Hellraiser Deluxe
Boss DS-1
Crate GTD65

GAS List:
Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster
There you go. Think it sent!
Quote by Kensai

Awesome guy right here