hey guys, i recently joined a tech death metal band (similar to necrophagist) that needed a bassist, so im trying it out even though im a guitarist that has recently just switched to bass. the problems im having are:

1. their music is very technical, its hard to keep the groove in key when the guitarists are sweeping all over the place in no particular key

2. my skills are limited in terms of bass, i can tap okay and play at a moderate tempo

can anyone give me any advice or insight on theyre approach to writing bass lines to this kind of music? any exercises or what not would be helpful too
drop tune your bass

practice really hard

don't try out for techno-death bands on an instrument you don't play
have a look at what bassists from similar bands are playing, and rip off their riffs
ohai little sig.
Quote by whatadrag
drop tune your bass

practice really hard

Not always needed. Cynic never drop tuned (IIRC)

My two pennies- theory. Learn it.
Skills. Get them
Hair. Grow it to your ass

EDIT: And tech death is one of the hardest genres out there. You're probably better off practicing your ass off for a good while yet.
Last edited by Deliriumbassist at Jun 4, 2008,
If you wanna be a cheap ass about it copy the guitar and when he's sweeping take the odd note and just play that instead of the full sweep.

The best thing to do would be to learn some modes then when the guitar is being written take the key of the song and riff some stuff around the modes and get something that sounds good going.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
just dance around and pretend to play

EDIT: but of course practice makes perfect and with a few hours a day you'l be jamming with them in no time
Quote by 20cdndollars
Quote by yurfinlfntsy
I HAVE to wear my kilt every Thursday...

I'm not sure why, though.

Me too!
We should start a support group.