Well, I'm looking into setting up a bit of a recording rig in my bedroom, and I figure this is the best forum for this thread. I'm pretty new to this, so I'm looking to you guys for advice on what to get.

Here's what I'll need, and some other specs:
- Mic (this is going to be for guitar only, no vocals or anything else)
- Mic Stand
- Some kind of low-latency recording interface (can be an external USB device or a new sound card, my current PC has onboard audio; doesn't need to come with digital FX or anything like that)
- Any necessary cables
- Budget is in the $300-400 USD range.
- Will be recording tracks using Audacity.
Ibanez RGA121 | ESP LTD H-1000
Axe-FX Standard
+ 1 on the above. The Toneport comes with Ableton Live Lite, so you would probably use that instead of Audacity.
just a quick question. Can the Shure SM-58 do a good job on recording guitars and bass? My father has a ton of those since he rents PA's, and I saw that you people recommend the SM-57 more.
Teh Gear:
Squier Affinity Fat Strat
Digitech RP-350
Roland PA-250
Old custom made 1x12" cab x2

No. 1 Digitech RP-350 recommender

Linux users UNITE ! ! !

I WANT THIS ! ! !
First off, the R&R page is the proper place for recording questions...I'll have this moved.

You need an interface, computer, mic, cables, stands, and time/money...oh, and software.

Here are my suggestions:

E-MU 0202 USB2.0 interface

You cant go wrong with the versatile Shure SM57

Musicians Gear Lo-Z XLR Microphone Cable I use these without any problem, they have been working for months now.

Pick up any type of stand, I like the 3 way adjustable boom type.

Software - Cakewalk sonar is nice and they have some lower priced ones to offer. I would tend to go with them but im a Sonar fan.
Audacity is nice, you just have to have the proper gear for it and this setup will work without a problem.