Hey I was just wondering if anyone could suggest some good bass cabinet brands... I am really new to buying cabinets, and my band is going to need me to purchase one so I would like to know what a good durable bass amp would be and what a good header would be to go along with it... I am not looking to spend that much but I do want some bang for my buck... Thanks
A good one that isnt too expensive but has gotten the job done for me for about five years and a million gigs is an Ampeg B2-RE with an ampeg 4x10 cab. I swear by Ampeg because you can't beat that classic tone. On the other hand, you should go try out alot of different cabs and amps in your price range and see what suites you best, because no one but you knows what you will really like.
So it goes.
If you want durable bass cabs I can only recommend Trace Elliot. Ive played loads of beat up to hell ones at rehersal studios, schools etc and they still maintain great sound quality and are structurally sound.

If you want durable, go for a cab that's used, been gigged a lot, and respected. Life will weed out the lesser cabs and leave you with the good ones! Asthetic damage is purely superficial and if you're gigging, its gonna get knocked about, dropped, set on fire to and the likes, so why buy a new cab at a premium for it to be damaged?

Gear:
Fender Standard Jazz Bass
Artec Matrix Pedal Tuner
BBE Optostomp
Boss GEB 7
EHX NYC Big Muff
Ashdown MAG C410T-300
Torque T100BX
GAS-ing for:
Boss SYB5
Behringer Intelligate IG9
I know countless people who swear by the tone of Hartke's aluminium drivers! They're brilliant things, and I'd definitely rate them way up there with the boutique brands when it comes to tone. But be warned, they weight quite a lot, as do most cabs in that price range.
Ibanez SR505
Ashdown ABM 300 EVO II
Epifani UL410
He said bang-for-buck, I can do it.