Hey, I was just wondering what kind of sound you can get from a Firebird... I'm into metal/hard rock/alternative and I fell in love with the look of a firebird... so I was wondering if you can get a metal/or hard rock sound out of it and it still sound good.

-VAN
I use mine for hard rock type stuff... it's sounds great. Good treble and awesome attack on it. I put EMG's into mine and they just made it sound so good.
Thanks...
and at the risk of looking like a complete noob and moron, what are EMG's? I play accoustic so, yah I'm ignorant.
EMGs are the most common brand of "active" pickups, which means they're given extra output due to the addidtion of a direct power source. Battery-powered, basically.

I don't think EMGs are really needed on a Firebird, though. One of the more distinctive aspects of them are the mini-humbuckers, after all.

Hmm....as for what it sounds like, I'd look around Youtube for any examples you might find. This is the only one I came up with, and that's because I remembered it and liked the tone (and the fact it's Johnny Winter, of course): http://youtube.com/watch?v=jp7BrzrfJMM
Do YOU know who Les Paul is?

Guitars:
-Epiphone Dot Studio
Amps:
-Fender Stage 112 SE
Effects:
-BBE Soul Vibe
-Boss OD-1 Overdrive
-Ibanez DE-7 Delay
Quote by Wulver
EMGs are the most common brand of "active" pickups, which means they're given extra output due to the addidtion of a direct power source. Battery-powered, basically.

I don't think EMGs are really needed on a Firebird, though. One of the more distinctive aspects of them are the mini-humbuckers, after all.

Hmm....as for what it sounds like, I'd look around Youtube for any examples you might find. This is the only one I came up with, and that's because I remembered it and liked the tone (and the fact it's Johnny Winter, of course): http://youtube.com/watch?v=jp7BrzrfJMM

he said it all.
Ibanez RG321MH (Air Classic/Tone Zone)
Fernandes Telecaster (Twang King/stock bridge pickup)