I've got a cheap fender style stagg and I want to take the frets out and replace them with wood so that you can still see the fret positions! I was wondering if i needed to make any major changes to it so that it plays ok! also what pickups would you suggest??
I'm not an expert on fretless guitars/basses but from what I've heard you need to put some sort of finish on the fretboard so the strings don't chew it up.
Ah i didn't think of that! nice one for bringing it up! i dont suppose it would be much different from the normal finish as even with a fretted bass the strings are still touching the neck!
go through this tutorial. http://www.geocities.com/charlesarms/defretintro.htm and i would recommend flatwound strings anyways, so thats not a big deal.
Quote by allislost
I would say that aetherspear speaks nothing but the truth.
UG Blues Group
UG Reggae & Dub Group
Need Professional Mixing for cheap? Need Vinyl to Digital Transfers? PM Me.
Last edited by aetherspear at Jun 6, 2008,
Quote by aetherspear
go through this tutorial. http://www.geocities.com/charlesarms/defretintro.htm and i would recommend flatwound strings anyways, so thats not a big deal.

Good one except for the finishing steps. It's key to finish your fretless with either a Poly or Epoxy coat. Wipe-on Poly, specifically the water-based one from MinWax is pretty popular with the those going fretless. Epoxy is a lot more involved and gets messy.

Gah! The websites not working! would i have to finish the neck prior to applying the wipe on poly or would i apply it straight to the bare wood?
Whatever you do, don't use liquid or putty wood filler! It will expand and warp your neck later.
Dunlop Straps™
The best sounding straps on the market

Quote by steven seagull
Justice is this, justice is that...justice is 9 minutes long and recorded in a cupboard full of fluffy pillows
Quote by patrickmoslin