Yeah so im a noob guitarist, just starting to be able to play decently. I quickly realized that im going to need some pedals. Which pedal is better for playing stuff like metallica, iron maiden, van halen, slash, and the like?

MT-2 http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Boss-MT2-Metal-Zone-Effects-Pedal?sku=151328

OS-2 http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Boss-OS2-OverdriveDistortion-Guitar-Effects-Pedal?sku=151336

Thanks in advance
-rocco

"Rap is to music as etch-a-sketch is to art" - Woody Paige
i see. what would be a good pedal then for rock/hard rock thats under 100$?
-rocco

"Rap is to music as etch-a-sketch is to art" - Woody Paige
Quote by TechnicolorType
MT-2 has to be the worst pedal I've ever played.

+10000
can't believe i ever bought one...
Guitar:
Schecter Omen 6 (Dimarzio X2N & Tone Zone)
Amps:
Engl Fireball
Genz Benz G-Flex 2x12 Cab
lmao +10000

but yeah.. they are awful.. I mean sure I managed to make one sound half-decent.. in an 850 dollar amp..
even then it was just a normal average boring sounding distortion.. and through every other solid state amp I've heard it in, it sounds so horrible..
:X

better off getting a freaking lyon distortion.
I agree with the hatred on the metalzone... I also bought one . Still, I think it served me alright. There are definitely other better distortion pedals out there though. Of course, taste is subjective but I think the majority of players will find it's tone somewhat lacking and high volumes makes it go very, very muddy.
GMO INC.
I think they're both ok for bedroom practice, but if you want to use them with a high W amp then you should look for something else.
I own an MT-2 and I like it, sounds pretty awesome if you can get the right settings

However, My guitar teacher uses an OS-2 or something similar and he swears by it

So it's a matter of preference, if you want to go full on metal or close, get an MT-2 or if you want distortion but not over the top, get the OS-2

Hope I helped
Quote by Bartleby