I am a guitarist making a switch to bass. I play in a newly formed band and we have a guy who will fit in as a guitarist better than will I. I am short on cash and have a nice large marshall bass half stack that I am borrowing for someone to play through. I have a $300 limit and I am looking mainly at the squier line as they seem to be a good bang for your buck. I am mainly considering the VM TB P-Bass and the VM jazz bass. They are the same price and both are available at my local store. I am wondering which will be more versatile for such styles as jazz, blues, funk, and alternative rock (think bands such as cream, RHCP, strokes, sublime, etc.) Any help is appreciated.
~Nick
FOR SALE:

Alvarez FD-60 acoustic electric- $295 obo (perfect condition, amber finish)
Lindy Fralin Blues Special Strat pickups (as set, perfect condition) - $175 obo

PM me if you are interested!
Flea plays a Jazz bass if that helps.
I like rap, feel free to use that as an argument against me.
P-bass are great and good value for money - not sure how much you can get one for over in teh states, in the UK I think they are more than 150 quid (300$)
Both would work well. The Jazz would be more versatile. There both pretty good, so what your personal preference
on musiciansfriend, the standard jbasses are $250, the vms are $280. if you have a little bit more money, DEFINATELY spend it.
Studies have shown that 92% of guitar players are close-minded. Copy this into your signature if you're part of the 8% who enjoy rap.

Me
Quote by m30wc0w
Flea plays a Jazz bass if that helps.

#1 Flea is nothing special. Big fish-small pond syndrome.
#2 Flea plays a modulus right now. He used a jazz in the recording of SA but he said the live sound didn't cut it.

TS If you want versatility get the Jazz.
Quote by watchingmefall
#2 Flea plays a modulus right now. He used a jazz in the recording of SA but he said the live sound didn't cut it.

I thought he switched back to Stingrays?
Quote by Captain Insano