yeah ive been playing guitar for like almost 3 years and when i got into high school i finally joined a band and became the lead. So for like the whole school year we kinda worked on songs and tried covering things. I aways could play things they asked me to play(except really hard songs like beat it...), but i never could add to an original song because...i have no musical theory... so yea do you think i should stay with my band even though i cant really write songs
o also i heard that they played at a festival with out me... so now im kinda bummed about that...
Beat it? Like, the FOB/John Mayer cover of Michael Jackson, or the EVH solo in the original song?

Maybe you should ask them for some help with theory in relation to composition. They can probably teach you enough to write some parts. And ask them about the festival show and see what they tell you about that.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
I know no musical theory whatsoever, and my band plays intense technical progressive music.
Stick with it and keep practicing, 9 months ago I couldn't even play in time with 4/4 but through the band my playing has improved immensely
ohai little sig.
did u ask if they actually played or are u just assuming?
and dont quit, man!! just practice more, either get off the computer, or look up some harder material while ur on here
Quote by LesPaulHer0
"in the grand scheme of things, nobody cares"

Gear:
Dean 10K Commemorative Razorback
Ibanez RG 3EX1
BC Rich Mockingbird Evil Edge
Fender Acoustic
Marshall MG250DFX
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah
Electro Harmonix Small Clone Full Chorus
No, learn theory, practice more, and get better. Thats the whole point of a band really, to grow together musically, you just need more practice is all.

My things:
Bowes SLx7
Washburn WG587
Washburn X40Pro
Washburn X50
Washburn HM24
Washburn WR150
Laguna LE200s
Arietta Acoustic
First Act
Valveking 112
VHT Deliverance