Ok well im looking to buy a new guitar and im trying to only spend $600-$700. Now i was originally looking at the ESP eclispe deluxe or something like that. Which was a little more pricey so i found this jackson RR3. Now it looks amazing. And it has a floyd rose which is a feature i have wanted. But i have a concern. Im not experienced with a floyd and i heard its very hard to do adjustments. I play in drop c most of the time and im not sure how thats gunna work out. i want to know like am i gunna have major probs using a floyd in drop c? cuz like i want a floyd really bad but i dont wanna buy a guitar that has one if im gunna have to many probs with drop c. other thing is i like to use either 9-10 size strings. and ive heard if your gunna tune low especially on a floyd that you need to use heavy gauge string. but i dont want to do that. so do i have an option? btw if anyone has any feedback on this jackson guitar plz let me know cuz i dont want to buy a piece of crap. cuz i cant test it out myslef im a lefty so i have to special order it hoping its a good guitar. by the way i couldnt get a pic up so you can find this guitar at guitarcenter.com just type jackson rr3 in the search box
Last edited by Tonoloc at Jun 7, 2008,
i have the rr3 and i love it. if u can ask if they can set it up in drop c for u. if not go to ur local music store and they will do it for u, thats wat i do i have it in all black and it looks nice
Link don't work for me.
anyway, I have a .52 as my lowest string and .10 as my highest, but then again I play in like drop D, that's pretty much as low as I go, but I'm sure you could get used to the higher gauges.
My point, however, is that if probably is a good idea to use thicker strings because they'd not break as much, stay in tune better (which you want with a floyd), and play better as far as fretwise.
I'm not positive that it takes higher gauge strings, but I am positive that it would probably make your life much easier.