This is for all those threads that say I have been playing 6 months 1 year etc and I still suck. Be patient you will get better.
My story I am 40yrs old I just started playing guitar about a year and a half ago.
I always loved the guitar even got one when I was about 8 for Christmas (el cheapo) but I never had the mentor to set the example for me and encourage me.
After I got older I met a friend who played but by that time High School band convinced me I had no talent for music so I could only look on his playing with envy.
Then came Guitar Hero it gave me a glimpse of what playing a guitar must be like and between it and my friend I bought my first guitar.
He would not teach me because he doesn't have the patience but we would get together sometimes on the weekend and he would show me a few simple things and I would practice basic chords and changes during the week.
I tried to practice at least an hour a day and it was slow going I have small hands so I didn't have much range on the fretboard and there were a lot of things I thought it would be impossible for me to ever do Barre Chords in particular so I just didn't practice them. I wasn't learning guitar to play in a band or be a Guitar god I was learning for the enjoyment of playing for myself so if I couldn't do some techniques then I would enjoy doing the ones I could do.