I have an electric guitar and play with it almost every day, except I just look up tabs. I am a beginner and feel that looking up tabs won't help me very much. I have the problem of hitting wrong notes in a riff (off by one fret). Can someone give me advice or practice routines to help me become more acquainted with the fretboard?
How many chords do you know?

edit: You're offline right now and won't be able to answer. I wanted to get a feel for where you are.

Anyways, the point i'm trying to get to is that if you practice learning chords (like basic open chords: g, c, d, a, e, and their basic variations (dom7, minor, major 7). Once you get ahold of getting the right fingerings for the chords and can transition from chord to chord whilst getting the right notes, it will help your muscle memory/subconcscious knowledge of fingers over the fretboard.

The other thing to do is PRACTICE.
“Science cannot solve the ultimate mystery of nature. And that is because, in the last analysis, we ourselves are part of nature and therefore part of the mystery that we are trying to solve.”

-Max Planck

☮∞☯♥
Last edited by metal4all at Jun 8, 2008,
But thats the thing. What practice should I do? I practice chords occasionally but not very long.
Quote by Tiki Rock
But thats the thing. What practice should I do?
What is it that you want to know?

If you want theory, read the link in my sig.

If you want a roadmap to the fretboard, please search the archives for a lesson on fretboard memorization by Casualty01 (Cas).
I'd start by practicing learning the chords in open position and being able to transition between them easily. I learned the notes by learning to read sheet music 1 string at a time so i don't know how to help you with individual notes really. I guess after you can switch between chords easily (your fingers know where to go) you could try learning songs. I'd think just using tab to learn songs would help get you acqainted with the fretboard.