here's the thing,ive been using economy picking since i started playing about 3 years ago,before i even knew it was called that! it felt logical,and it still feels comfortable and it has never let me down so far

but i follow kristopher dahl's shred masterclass,and he kinda spoke against it in replies he makes to people's comments,he said:

* Economy pikcing - you can achieve great speed and sounds with this. But you will never get the same rhythmic effect out of a fast speedpicking run (like for Paul Gilbert for example). I stopped doing economy picking ~2 years ago. This resulted in me not being able to pick very good in any way, since I all of a sudden became a beginner at picking. Now I feel that the alternate picking is starting to come along so I see some light in the end of the tunnel!

so,this got me wondering?should i go ahead and try to switch? i tried to do that and alternate picking felt like poop! like taking the long way when you should be taking the obvious one,economy picking feels much more natural and just right!

but im still wondering,am i just holding on to a bad habit? its gonna be a real pain trying to switch and i still prefer economy

so what should i do,advice anyone? im really confused
I used to use economy picking. I switched to alternate picking quite early during my playing. I think it's better for me.

There are great guitarists out there that use economy picking. It's really up to you. Everyone is different. If economy picking works for you, then use it.
Hey, i switched to alternate picking too from economy picking too like a year back. Now i prefer alternate picking way more and almost never use economy picking.. In fact i find it easier then economy picking now..

It shouldnt be too hard to pick up if u were already decent at economy picking, but i had real trouble with switching strings at 1st.. So i had to practice switching strings real slowly at first..

Hope this helps..