I was noodling about last night playing over a chord progression and suddenly found that you could play a four note chromatic and it sounds all in key, I was pretty surprised, I'm still learning and never though this was possible. Thinking back (can't remember exactly) was noodling in A minor pentatonic and C major (just now understanding the uses of a relative key), A minor being the relative key of C major. The four chromatic notes were D, D#, E, F (where the two scales cross over) just incase anyone else was interested

anyone else ever come across anything like this while playing and it suprised you, like you discover something new yourself then finally understand the theory behind it?
theory is a guideline NOT an enforced law, so basically i play what comes to heart but still when in doubt i try to stick to some little guides.

Check erotomania - dream theater the whole intro is like 8 chromatic notes
Quote by Helpy Helperton
I was noodling about last night playing over a chord progression and suddenly found that you could play a four note chromatic and it sounds all in key, I was pretty surprised, I'm still learning and never though this was possible. Thinking back (can't remember exactly) was noodling in A minor pentatonic and C major (just now understanding the uses of a relative key), A minor being the relative key of C major. The four chromatic notes were D, D#, E, F (where the two scales cross over) just incase anyone else was interested

anyone else ever come across anything like this while playing and it suprised you, like you discover something new yourself then finally understand the theory behind it?

I'm a little confused by two things:

1. How were you playing in A minor and C major? If you're talking about playing them over the same progression, you're playing one or the other (whichever is suggested by the tonal center), not both.

2. What do you mean that D D# E F is where the "scales cross over"?