I started playing guitar at Christmas last year, so about 5-6 months. At the time, my Dad gave me his old guitar book (he never played much, it was a gift when he went to Hong Kong with the army). It's from 1975, but it's really helped me. It has, what I assumed at the time, all of the chords. They are CDEFGAB inc.# and b's, and they are Major, Minor, Seventh, Diminished, Augmented, Major 6th, Minor 6th and Ninth.

Anyway, so far I've learnt all of the Major/Minor/Sevenths, and then I checked out this site. I've seen new things like Fsus2, whatever that means.

My questions are: What chords should I learn next (preferable from the book) and is it worth learning the 'sus' ones and the 'add' ones, whatever they mean.

Cheers for any help.
ninths are cool for funk and stuff so I'd say those. Sus is short for suspended. If they were in there, I'd say learn those since they can be pretty cool. Actually, hit up www.chordfind.com for all of those sus chords and then learn some split chords like C/E
Sweeping is for n00bs. I've moved on to vacuuming. Eventually I'll even try steam cleaning.

Bitches don't know
if you've learned all the major and minor chords... i wouldn't recommend really sitting down and memorizing suspended, augmented, diminished, etc. chords. i would recommend studying music theory at this point. this will teach you why a suspended chord is a suspended chord and will teach you how to construct any suspended chord. this way instead of just memorizing a set of fingerings, you are actually learning something about music and you will not be limited to simply the set of finerings you memorized.