Im kinda new to the whole theory concept, so can someone explain to me the concept of keys?
what are they?
how do you tell what key a song is in?
how do you tell what scales go good with a certain key?
Fender MIA Standard Strat
ESP LTD Viper 407
Epiphone SG
Starcaster by Fender(modded with Bill Lawrence l-500-xl)
PEAVEY 6505+ (FJA transistor modd)
Peavey 65 watt transtube studio-112
Marshall 1960AV
Vader 2x12
ISP Decimator
MXR 10 band EQ
Every song resolves around a tonal centre, the key of the song. The key of a song depends on the chord progression, root notes, and scales used in the song. If a chord progression is in the key of A, but the lead guitarist starts to solo with C major, it will sound out of place.

You'll have to look inthe lessons section of UG to understand key. I could tell you what chords go with what key, but that's kind of pointless because it won't help you understand it. First, learn about the major scale and chord construction: go to the music theory FAQ sticky. Then, go to this lesson to put the chords in key. Scales go with their corresponding keys. The chord progression helps determine the key. So as you can see, it's all related. A chord progression in A minor can be soloed over with A minor or A minor pentatonic. But you have to start with the basics, the major scale.
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Dunlop Crybaby Wah
Boss DS-1 Distortion
Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor
Marshall JCM2000 DSL401
Quote by doctorcheeze200
Im kinda new to the whole theory concept, so can someone explain to me the concept of keys?
what are they?
how do you tell what key a song is in?
how do you tell what scales go good with a certain key?