i've been playing for a while now (self taught) and i thought i was picking fine but a friend of mine said i was using my finger and thumb to pick meaning i'll struggle with getting faster. I looked around and i couldn't find any fast guitarists using a thumb and finger motion (virtually all of them use the wrist) i can't seem to get myself to pick with my wrist at all- i pick a few notes and revert back to using my fingers. i experimented with all the ways of picking; finger and thumb was the slowest but cleanest method, using my whole arm was clearly the fastest but not as clean as using the finger and thumb approach, when i forced myself to pick with my wrist i got faster than my finger and thumb but no where near as quick as my arm and it was pretty messy.

the question is what do i do?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6E25uX0kuk

Takayoshi Ohmura calls BS on your friend

Seriously though; just go with what's comfortable for you, with enough practice you'll be able to reach whatever speed you want.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
dude, you continue with that "finger only" picking method, if you watch Buckethead, Paul Gilbert or Malmsteen, or any other shredder you will notice that they use the finger combined with the wrist.

Check the lessons this guy has on picking.

http://www.youtube.com/user/pebberbrown
Teh Gear:
Squier Affinity Fat Strat
Digitech RP-350
Roland PA-250
Old custom made 1x12" cab x2

No. 1 Digitech RP-350 recommender

Linux users UNITE ! ! !

I WANT THIS ! ! !
Your friend is wrong, that picking technique is called oscillation and I've read that it's very economic.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6E25uX0kuk

Takayoshi Ohmura calls BS on your friend