So I went to GC the other day with a friend who has played guitar for about 7-8 years. I'm pretty new to guitar and had never been to a GC before. I was shopping for a new amp(cause I'm beginning to dislike my puny 8" Crate GLX15). After getting frustrated with a handful of completely out-of-tune Fender Squires(I have a strat copy), he asks me to just pick out the coolest looking guitar on the wall. Well my eyes immediately were drawn to a Schecter Devil Custom with an amber sunburst. We both spent the next 5 hours playing that guitar on almost every amp and pedal in the store. By the end of it we both found ourselves wanting to walk out with it.

He's been shopping for like 3 weeks already for a new guitar(and he knows exactly what he wants) so while he wants to get it, he's still comparing it vs some of the others he has picked out.

I, on the other hand, am having trouble not buying one. I still need a new amp regardless, so I went ahead and ordered an AD30VT-XL. The 12" and hi-gain models won me over. Unfortunately, we never even got to test the Vox's in the GC much because 1) they were complicated(we didn't know about the presets, how the modeling worked, or the wattage knob on the back...) and 2) they didn't have the XL version that I'd prefer anyway.

So...anyone care to stop me? ^_^ I'm wondering if I'll regret buying it due to maybe a bad pairing of EMG 81/85 with a modeling amp like the Vox? Also, I noticed that Tempests and Blackjacks can be had used in good condition for several hundred less. Unfortunately for me, the Devil Custom is a new model for '08 and to my untrained eye is in a whole different class than most of the others.

So $700. Think I'll be regretting it a month from now or rocking out like never before?
For $700 idk....never played the vox but you could get a used JSX combo for that much.
Gear:
1980 Gibson SG Standard Cherry Red
Ibanez TM-71 Talman Artcore Semi-Hollow
2003 Tom Delonge Fender Strat Seafoam Green
Traynor YCV40