ok so ive been playing guitar for a year and im ok, im self taught and know my fundamentals and plan to practice more vigourously all summer. however i am startinng a band with my friend which will be a thrash metal band and i think hardcore is the right word to go with it or possibly metalcore. now i have a few questions
1. how does one write a thrash/ metalcore song, i either tune to drop d or d standard with power chords, but thats to simple i want to form some nice chords but im not sure what scales/modes what ever you want to call them to use, i like locrian but i also tend to use phyrgian. i know how to form baisc chords but i cant quite grasp the concept of more advanced ones (powertab made me even more confused when i was using the chord book). also for chords i might do a standard tunign because drop tunings make scales take wierd shapes (the top string moving over two but i gues i can cope with that)
2. im not good at soloing or improvising, what should i do, just practice? i would like to know because im the best guitarist between me and my friend but im only good at rythme and i want some good solos to put the icing on the cake of our songs
3. how do i learn to play guitar and sing at the same time once again, just practice? i can do it on 1 song dont fear the reaper's intro but thats it and im sure the music is going to be much much faster than that and i cant sing and play fast because i get off tempo
new one 4. when using a mode box. lets say phrygian can you play it by itself in different keys instead of playing the all modes that are in order in a certain key on the neck, i think i can do both but im not entirely sure, this question may not even make since if it doesnt ill try to elaborate
i think that's all at the moment but i think of something else ill edit and post. thank you to those who help me. and please if you hate thrash or metalcore dont post anything or be jerk i need help and its really pointless to be rude. this isnt the pit afterall