Ok, I've been playing for almost three years with guitar. A lot of people want me to teach lessons. And before you say I need to have played longer, I've played Classical piano for 9 years. I can tap fine and sweep pick decently. But my question is, what do you teach a beginner? I never really was a beginner, from the moment I started guitar, I knew a bunch about theory.
“In my anguish I cried to the LORD, and he answered by setting me free. The LORD is with me; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”
first and foremost...picking excercise such as 1 2, 2 3, 3 4 on all strings etc
chords also. and teach them a popular easy song they like, so that way they get interested. and picking dynamics are important also. and also fingering. get them into some easy chromatic exercises.
EDIT:pentatonic scale too, then move on to other scales
start with some basic open chords and some riffs. I usually do half an hour lessons, 15 mins on the chords, 15 mins learning a tune or song
Quote by Freddy_Walker
stevo 192 lol mate u a beast! Such a rebel!!!

'90 Fender P-bass lyte
Squier P bass special
Trace Elliot Series 6 head and cabs
Fender American Stratocaster
Vintage Teisco electric guitar
Fender princeton 650 dsp amp
Yup I agree with the stuff mentioned, and you could try correct technique like hand positions and so on to make sure they develop clean technique also.
Definitely what they said about proper technique and the pentatonic. Though make sure you dont teach them any bad habits that you arent aware you do(it happens). And if your gonna charge them...please make it cheap, considering you are not at a high level of musicianship, nor a trained instructor. and Have fun!
EDIT: Slodont try to submerge them into a sea of theory at first...bring it on slowly, unless they understand it all.
people with large sig's are clearly compensating for something.
Last edited by Lamrick21 at Jun 10, 2008,
I'm teaching someone at the moment. It's only been a month