Okay, dont flame me but I am new to basses, i usually play guitar. Ive been wanting to have and play a bass for awhile. I dont know anything about basses so i dont know whats good. I played my friends in Florida a little.
Any suggestions on a good bass for metal?
Budget would help... Have you tried the stickied FAQ?
Quote by soccermom
The only epic thing about the bass forum is Pete Wentz penis. Its Epic. Epic penis.
BASS, MT, AND PIT JUNKIE

Quote by AboveTheBridge
Budget would help... Have you tried the stickied FAQ?

Yes.
Im willing to pay anything under 700ish not counting amp or anything.

And another question, should i get a 5 or 4 string?

I looked up the GSR 200 Ibanez and im not to crazy about it. Its too much of a practice bass. I dont want something im just going to replace. Sorry.
Last edited by Luizza69 at Jun 10, 2008,
Quote by Luizza69
Yes.
Im willing to pay anything under 700ish not counting amp or anything.

And another question, should i get a 5 or 4 string?

Just start with a four string.

Although, since you play metal, you wouldn't be bad off with a 5-string. It's personal preference, really.
The.
Quote by Deliriumbassist
^^I think if a person can get to grips with that low B, then they should get a five string, if only to get better with their economic playing.

The problem is that if a beginner picks up a 5-string for the first time and sticks with it, they get accustomed to it and get lost when they try a 4-string. The low B string should be extra, not standard (unless you plan on being in a band that plays with 7-string guitars the rest of your life).
Quote by pwrmax
The problem is that if a beginner picks up a 5-string for the first time and sticks with it, they get accustomed to it and get lost when they try a 4-string. The low B string should be extra, not standard (unless you plan on being in a band that plays with 7-string guitars the rest of your life).