Hi,

I am a beginner (maybe intermediate) guitarist and Ive pretty much mastered all the basic chords and Im trying to get into picking and stuff. My family wants me to play the guitar for them and I want to be able to play something that sounds nice by itself without vocals or instruments. I want to be able to learn it fast so what would be a good picking song to try and learn?

I can play Wish You Were Here, Good Riddance, and Here Comes the Sun so are there any others of similar difficulty? I dont care what genre of music it is, just so that it is easy and sounds good. And preferably is mainly based of chords with not too much fret movement (such as Here Come the Sun).

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Aaron
A good one is Let It Be by the Beatles, everyone knows it when you start playing it. Here's how I play it.

*NOTE* The "Intro" part is the piano intro. Also, I'm sorry the tablature is a bit screwy. I hope you can figure it out. Tip, learn the sections one by one, aka, Intro for a week until you can play it fine, then verse, etc, etc. Hope this helps!

Let It Be
Beatles
Intro
|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
|-------1-----1-------0------0-------0h1-------1------1------1-----1-------1----------------0--------1--1--1--1
|-------0-----0-------0------0-------2----------2------2------2-----0-------0----------------0------2----0--0--0
|-------2-----2-------0------0-------2----------2------3------3-----2-------2------------0-------3-------2--0--2
|----------3------3--------------------------0-----------------------------3-----------------------------------------3
|--------------------------3-------3-----------------3------1----------------------0-1-3----------------------------

Verse 
|--------------------------------------------0---0-0-0-----------------|-0---0-1-0--0-------0----------