I'm new to home recoding, so i'm starting from scratch. I'm basically looking to record just my voice, my acostic guitar, then maybe a secondary guitar later.

After reading a few threads and trying to pick up a few tips, this is what i've though about buying:-

M-Audio Mobile Pre USB Interface
Shure SM-57 Mic

My acoustic had a soundhole pickup, so my plan is to run my acoustic through my pedal and amp into the Interface, and use the mic to record my voice.

I think it's viable, but would just like an opinion or agreement to make sure.
Sorry, **** advice.
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Fender MIM Standard Strat
Fender Deluxe Reverb
Digitech Bad Monkey
Electro Harmonix Big Muff
Ernie Ball VP Junior 250k
Dunlop Cry Baby Wah
Last edited by zapparage at Jun 11, 2008,
Get yourself a condenser mic and audio interface.
It would be nice to record your guitar and vocal at the same time however with digital technology, you don't need to....if you don't want to.

The way I would do it is mic the guitar with some good condenser mics and record the guitar part. After that, play back that guitar part though your monitor and add the vocals on top of it.
Tweak compression and EQ and add any FX to each track until you get something you like.

Software:
Reaper is one I started learned a while back and it goes for a reasonable price.
Cakewalk Sonar also is a great program and theres low priced software packs out for it.
Both of these have a fairly steep learning curve but will give you a lot of freedom in the post production stages.
For recording vocals and acoustic you'd be better off investing in a good condenser mic. An SM57 will work in those situations, but won't excel in either.

Start by looking for a decent 2 input recording interface that has preamps and phantom power. Something like the M-Audio Fast Track Pro. Should be able to pick up something in this area for around $200.