So, I recently got my 6-string fretless, and there seems to be a problem with the high C, or at least the way I set it up. It's unlined, so on the side of the neck, there are position markers, and for the third fret marker, they're all fine, except the high C. When I hit that third fret marker, the high C actually plays a D instead of D#. The C is in tune, and it's intonation is correct. This applies to all of the position markers. What is the problem? Yeah, I'm new to the whole six string thang :p
Last edited by kirbyrocknroll at Jun 12, 2008,
Quote by kirbyrocknroll
So, I recently got my 6-string fretless, and there seems to be a problem with the high C, or at least the way I set it up. It's unlined, so on the side of the neck, there are position markers, and for the third fret marker, they're all fine, except the high C. When I hit that third fret marker, the high C actually plays a D instead of D#. The C is in tune, and it's intonation is correct. This applies to all of the position markers. What is the problem? Yeah, I'm new to the whole six string thang :p

That is very weird. I would take it to get setup professionally if I were you.
Proud Owner of a Fender Jazz 24 V

Private Simmons of the Red vs. Blue club. PM Fret13 to join.

Things to come:
Carvin or Trace-elliot rig
EBS Valvedrive (Newest edition )
Fret position markers are really only a rough guide on fretless basses, they are very rarely spot-on accurate. It is probably just that these position markers were aligned for the lower strings and their position does not apply to the higher ones. Do your D and G strings get less accurate as you move further up the neck too?
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!
Whoops! I'm an idiot!

I thought I was hitting the third fret marker because my neck was at an angle, but I actually wasn't.

Problem solved