Page 1 of 2
I've been really depressed regarding my guitar playing lately.
I keep playing but it doesn't seem like I'm making any progress at all.

As I've said I've been playing for a while but only recently have I realized that I've been playing everything with horrible technique.

I've made some corrections but it's taken me a huge step backwards. I'm basically a beginner again

What sucks is that every time I listen to some of my favorite music I get so frustrated because I know I can't even begin to touch it.

My two favorite guitar players are Omar Lopez from Mars Volta and Alexi Laiho from COB

But they're so far out of my league right now. I keep looking at all these complex arpeggios and licks and I have no idea how to even go about playing them. I'm even struggling to play simple open chords now....something I never used to do.

Has anyone gone through this before? How did you deal with it. I'd really like to be able to listen to music without feeling like crap.

I'm never going to stop playing guitar. It's just there's so much and I'm so overwhelmed and I don't know where to begin.

I really need some help on this
Maybe a break is in order. Take a week off without touching your guitar.
: : Guitars
Epiphone Les Paul Custom Black Beauty
Ibanez Acoustic-Electric
Fender Black Strat
: : Effects
Boss CH-1 Super Chorus
Visual Sound Jekyll & Hyde Distortion & Overdrive
Dunlop Crybaby
Fender Tuner
Man, just relax, drink, smoke, **** play and listen to the music you like and everything is going to be just fine Enjoy in your skills.