I wrote a really cool sounding little chord progression, but I'm wondering which key it's in and which scales to use. Sorry if this is the wrong forum, too.

The chords are D minor with a flat 3rd, (so D, A, and E), C maj, Bb maj. Then, I play a little lick with notes that goes "G, F, E" (not chords). What would this be in? Also, could I solo with the blues scale? Thanks for help, I'm pretty new to this stuff.
Quote by bbcstw
I wrote a really cool sounding little chord progression, but I'm wondering which key it's in and which scales to use. Sorry if this is the wrong forum, too.

The chords are D minor with a flat 3rd, (so D, A, and E), C maj, Bb maj. Then, I play a little lick with notes that goes "G, F, E" (not chords). What would this be in? Also, could I solo with the blues scale? Thanks for help, I'm pretty new to this stuff.

sorry to be kinda unhelpful, but a flat third is what makes D minor minor and not major.
Quote by bbcstw

So your chords are Dm - C - Bb???

typical D minor progression:

Use these scales:
D minor
D minor blues
D pentatonic minor

there are other scales that could work, but for you I recommend just these for starters.
better to start with 1, and then learn to make some music with it before exploring the many other possibilities.

btw the notes in your Dm chord should be DFA
shred is gaudy music
Quote by t3hjames
My limited musical knowledge seems to think that E minor works... but i may be (and probably am) wrong

that wouldn't really work out. Its a straight up D minor progression.
shred is gaudy music
Quote by HeavenlyVirus
sorry to be kinda unhelpful, but a flat third is what makes D minor minor and not major.