I have never written lyrics before, but I have sat down at with paper and pen and tried. I got no where. I dont no where to start. Can anyone tell me where to start and just give me some tips. I am defintinely not short on things to write a song about.
Quote by vmanoman
damn....thats nuts. 2 nuts in fact. anyway, all that happened to me was i fell up a flight of stairs....like not up a few steps, but tripped at the bottom and fell up the entire flight.....
the way i do it is to have my band play parts of the song over and over again while i sit in a corner.. There i will just try and get a general tune in my head.. not any words.. once i have that tune, i write words that fill up the spaces. once you have the subject, it shouldn't be hard at all.. then a lot of the time i'll type up the lyrics that night, and make little revisions, or sometimes even change whole parts of a song to make more sense..
Find something that you're either enjoying or not enjoying in life in general.
Find some inspiration.
ok, yeah. my name is silly because I signed up when I was 13.

BEDBUGS
That would work if i had a actual band. Me and my friend are trying to start a band, so we have a bassist and a guitarist, and maybe a potential drummer. I am just trying to start writing lyrics for potential songs, the music will come later.
Quote by vmanoman
damn....thats nuts. 2 nuts in fact. anyway, all that happened to me was i fell up a flight of stairs....like not up a few steps, but tripped at the bottom and fell up the entire flight.....
"Okay I need some Major tips."

okay, here's one:

Please read the rules in the announcement at the top of this forum.

you will probably get some ideas from the threads in the Techniques subforum here in S&L
you likely won't need to start a new thread, either. just read and post in similar threads there if you need more info on what has already been discussed.

this thread will be closed.

*reported*

EDIT: thanks jamie, i see you already handled this.