I've been playing for a couple of months and have been progressing pretty slowly. I'm not the kind of person who likes to play other people's music so I've been mostly drilling with scales and chords.

Up until a few days ago I was planning on saving up for the summer to get a really nice amp and new guitar. After reading countless threads and doing loads of research I've come to the conclusion that my idea was stupid. I'm pretty sure I should focus on improving my skills before I dump a bunch of money into expensive equipment.

So ANYWAY, I think I should invest my money into things that can improve my practice technique. I've been looking at drum machene/metronone type devices and that finger excercize thing looks nice too.

What would the UG community reccomend for skill improvement for scales/chords?

Also, are their any sites that provide a nice layout for me to get from where I am now (scales and chords) to learning how to do improvizations?

Thanks for you help.
if you suck with timing and rhythm, a metronome isnt a bad idea
but as for improving general skill, its all about perserverance and determination
if you want to play guitar and you enjoy it, then just keep playing and eventually you'll get better
buying ****loads of stuff thats supposed to improve your technique is just pointless, cos eventually you'll rely on it
Quotes from other UGers in your signatures that talk about how good you are suck donkey schlong.
I don't know anybody good that doesn't know a LOT of other band's songs
Well, the only thing to help you get better with scales and chords is (i know, you'll probably hate me for this) SCALES AND CHORDS. Just do them over and over and over again until you could do them in your sleep.

If you wanna practice timing, you probably don't need to invest in a drum machine just yet. I would look into an inexpensive metronome (you could probably find one free online too...) and practice to that.