i have two questions about teachers:

should i get a guitar teacher? why?
where/how can i find a good local teacher?

i would put my skills at around intermediate. im just getting into advanced stuff and i can do the beginer stuff pretty good.
yes get a teacher because you can learn so much more from a 1 on 1 lesson than you can from a website or whatever. A teacher will pick up on aspects of your playing that you might otherwise ignore. Ask around music shops to get info on teachers. peace
I would say if you are serious about your playing, and think that it would be well worth the money (it is a lot). then by all means get a guitar teacher.

They can see the areas you need to improve in and help (to state the obvious) it is much easier for someone who knows more about guitar than you to help you than for you to help yourself.

Try looking asking a local music store, or perhaps a local school or college (that's where I found mine)
Get a guitar teacher. Don't get a teacher from a store or an academy. They are over priced and usually, the instructors aren't that passionate. Get a private instructor. Search the net/ask around your local guitar center and find someone giving lessons out of their home. Make sure they have a reputation. Usually if a guitar center employee drops their name, they're good.

Private lessons are great because they're usually pretty cheap and the instructor wants to be there and he concentrates a ton of time into the lessons.

Students at an academy or music store come and go like overweight men at a buffet line.
Most of them won't get serious with you until they see that you're going to stick around.
█████████████████████████████████████████████
Portugal. The Man »–
Quote by jasonmetal love