I've been playing guitar for a few years now and seem to have it a brick wall. I know the Pentatonic scale in all positions and I know all of the modal scales. I find that I can learn songs using Guitar Pro and I like the sense of achievement I get when it's done but when it comes to music of my own it all seems to fall apart. As soon as I put a backing track on and try to improvise over it I seem to start playing like a complete novice and my mind goes blank. This is getting very frustrating! I know I'm a reasonable player but if I get with other musicians and we start jamming I feel like a right loser because I don't seem to be able to play anything other than really simple stuff. Learning a song is easier as I know where my fingers have to go next but I really want to be able to start jamming with other musicians and maybe join a band but I can't while I'm in this situation. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

To give you an idea of my ability, the last few songs I've learned, including solos are:

Let it Roll - UFO
Rock Bottom - UFO
Losfer Words - Iron Maiden
Am I Evil? - Metallica
Cryin - Joe Satriani

I'm best on 'Cryin', which is almost perfect, 'Am I Evil' still needs a little work on the solo to get it smoot and the other 3 are pretty good most of the time.
well, me, i wouldn't join a band if i was in your position. it will only make you feel less motivated (or not), and will give a bad impression to other musicians, which will be bad for your self-esteem
what you should do is, instead of learning more and more songs all the time, just start playing whatever. get a scale, and start improvising. no backing track needed. just take your time and start slowly. try and take time to actually think about the next note you want to play.
singing notes and then playin them on the guitar can be very useful too, i would say.
The best advice I can give you is this: don't give up, keep practicing.