Are lessons really essintial? Because some say they aren't and some say they are...just I'd like an opinion here. Thanks.
Black then white are all I see,
in my infancy, red and yellow then came to be.
Are English lessons really essential? Depends on how bothered you are about your spelling. Same goes for music.
certainly not...many famous guitarists were self taught. Slash is one good example
slash was taught at the start of his playing for bout a year or just a little less.... So i guess it basically taught him the essential stuff needed to know and then he started playing on his own.
not at all, but to say they don't/can't help is extremely ignorant

and

Quote by branflakes439
certainly not...many famous guitarists were self taught. Slash is one good example

Slash is the best you could come up with? lol
Satriani is a great example.
Quote by pwninator123
EPIC LOLZ FROM THE LEFTY!!!!!!

Quote by death.prog
Ugh...

When I brought up this page, so much fail dumped out of my computer screen and all over my hands, severely damaging my ability as a musician.
However, these self-taught famous guitarists spent night and day playing guitar. Slash dropped out of high school as a junior and played guitar 11+ hours a day.

Unless you want to be like that, I'd say take lessons. Being taught by a professional really helps when you get caught in a rut. Plus, rather than just getting better technically, you'll get better musically as well, making things that you write much better. Go for lessons.
If you can take lessons, take them - with a good teacher, they'll help tremendously. The columns and lessons on here can only go so far - it will be more beneficial to have an experienced player sitting and watching you so that they can observe how you play and make suggestions, or correct bad habits that you may have developed without even realizing it.
Quote by Roc8995