I love guitar , i have been playing for half a year now , but one thing that i hate is the way i play. I started learning at my school where we had to use classical guitar techniques such as playing with a rest stroke where u pick the string with your finger and rest on the next one . It is a very flamenco like technique. Then when i started learning at home the habit stuck with me . I didn't think much about it , and i figured if i wanted to use a pick i would learn very fast . I have been trying to use a pick ever since but i cant get it . It feels so unnatural and very uncomfortable . But now I am getting into a lot of lead stuff and its hard to use my fingers . I can still go very fast but not fast enough . What should i do ? Its been killing my guitar life .To get a sense of were i am i can play the Layla solo(unplugged)2x speed with fingers, maybe more I am not sure , but when it comes to very high bends up the neck the fingers don't have much sustain and I am horrible at that, and i cant shred up the strings ( from high e going towards low e) for nothing , do u have suggestions on what i can do thank u very much ,

P.S sorry for my bad grammar i was in a hurry
Last edited by flyingE27 at Jun 15, 2008,
^suggestions on what you can do?.....

um, learn english?

oh wait, you mean learning to use a pick

practice, practice, practice and take lessons if you can.
What in the blue **** are you talking about?
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
i play an electric guitar with a rest stroke , for example i pick the e string with my finger and my finger lands and rests on the b string , srry if im not being clear enough
TS, please fix up the grammar and spelling in your original post and then post again. I refuse to respond until this happens, and I encourage everyone to do the same.