Hey guys,

I'm looking into upgrading my electric's pickups to some nicer ones.

I have an Ibanez SA 120 which currently has

IBZ AH5 (H) neck PU

IBZ AH6 (H) bridge PU

(stock).

I am completely new to guitar pickups--I have been playing acoustic all of my life, but have owned an electric. As I have gotten more into playing electric, I feel it's time for an upgrade.

What do you guys recommend?

In terms of playing style, I play everything--Steve Howe to Santana to Boston.

I was thinking about some Gibson 57 Humbuckers

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Gibson-57-Classic-Humbucker-Pickup?sku=306000

and

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Gibson-57-Classic-Plus-Pickup?sku=306012

That's a lot of money, but I hear it's worth it. I will have my local shop professionally install it.

Any thoughts? Recommendations are always appreciated!

PS: How do I know if a pickup will fit my guitar?

Thanks!
the pickups on that guitar are good enough, why replace them?
HiMyNameIsMatt
Maybe some Seymore Duncan Pearly Gates
Schecter C-1 Elite
Gretsch 5120
Fender Ultra-Chorus Amp
I always prefer Dimarzio but Seymour Duncans are nice. Check out Dimarzio's website, they have a pickup picker that asks you a few questions and makes recommendations on which of thier pickups would work best for you. Plus Dimarzio's are good quaility and about ½ the price of the Gibsons and cheaper than SD's.

BTW, if you were going to go with SD's, I say N-59'er & B-Pearly Gates.
I'd say the Dimarzio PAF pro is up your alley, it was designed after the patent on the pickup that later became the Classic '57 had expired. Dimarzio designed it to be very similar in tonal characteristics, but a little bit hotter. Great Pickup, that won't destroy your wallet!
Out here you've gotta know where your towel is!
Quote by surge666
the pickups on that guitar are good enough, why replace them?

Are you saying that upgrading my pickups isn't worth it?

Thoughts?
Quote by ValoRhoads