I am an acoustic player that has been playing for about 6 months (with lessons). I started playing guitar with the aim of moving up to an electric and I finally have the money for one. My guitar teacher recommends a Samick Malibu 1 that is in my local music shop. And I also need an amp. I have 320 dollars. Advice, please? Should I buy that guitar? Should I buy another one? What amp should I get? Thanks to those who post.

EDIT: That Samick guitar is about 162 dollars, with tax.
D & D player.
If you don't like it, okay.
Last edited by dorian91 at Jun 16, 2008,
Without knowing anything about what you play, I'll say:

Guitar ($199)
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Squier-Standard-Stratocaster-Electric-Guitar?sku=510422

Amp ($199)
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Vox-Valvetronix-AD15VT-15W-Guitar-Combo?sku=481958

Over your budget, I know. You're going to want to think about expanding it a little bit. Could be hard to find a decent setup for $320. Above option is only $400.

What styles are you looking to play?
Last edited by TheProducer at Jun 16, 2008,
Thats out of my price range, thanks though. It took me a few years to save up this much. Im not old enough to hold a job in my state.

Id like to play blues, surf, stuff with distortion in general, some random beatles stuff probably. Stuff thats not that heavy, I think.

EDIT: I dont want to mess around with a Squier anyway. Too much stuff to fix up to be able to play it without worrying about something or other. That amp looks nice though.
D & D player.
I started with a viper-50 ltd for 200$ and a roland microcube for my amp (100$)

So basicly id advise getting the microcube and any 200$ guitar
Quote by dorian91
Thats out of my price range, thanks though. It took me a few years to save up this much. Im not old enough to hold a job in my state.

Id like to play blues, surf, stuff with distortion in general, some random beatles stuff probably.