Page 1 of 2
Okay, I'm just BEGINNING to get into theory, and I have a quick question to help me understand this stuff.

I think I understand that if you take a scale, certain chords work with that scale. For example, if you take a Major scale, the chords that work with each interval would be (I, ii, iii, IV, V, vi, vii*). Is this correct, that with scales, certain chords work with that scale?

My next question is this: say you take some weird, rare scale, such as a Persian scale, or Kumoi scale. How do you know what chords will work with such scale?
EGO | Animus

Do you like PROG? Check out my bands above!
Well take a major key, C major just because it's easy

C D E F G A B

build a chord based of the I note, C and you get:
C E G, distance between C and E is major, distance between C and G is a perfect 5th, so you have a 1 3 5 chord, major

For the second chord, based off of D:
D F A
distance from D to F is a minor third, distance from D to A is a perfect fifth,
so you get a 1 b3 5 minor chord

thats where we get the chords of a scale from, and you just apply that formula to odd scales, however it gets kinda funky if you have scales that have less or more than 7 tones

Edit: King Crimson ftw!
Quote by beadhangingOne
There is no music but metal and muhammad is its prophet.
Thanks for the help! And yes KC ftw!

Edit: Wait, so which chords made of the 1st, 3rd, and 5th? When do you use other intervals?
EGO | Animus

Last edited by voyaging at Jun 16, 2008,
Quote by voyaging

Edit: Wait, so which chords made of the 1st, 3rd, and 5th? When do you use other intervals?

You can use other intervals whenever you want; however, those "chords built off the degrees of the scale" are just triads featuring a root, third and fifth.
Quote by :-D
You can use other intervals whenever you want; however, those "chords built off the degrees of the scale" are just triads featuring a root, third and fifth.