i am a teenage guitarist and i am currently using a cheap stratocastor look-alike
i want an actual fender stratocastor or a gibson les paul or even a washburn WI566
does anyone know where i can can find one new for cheaper than $1000?
MIM strats run about 400 bucks, new.
i don't like les pauls. the tone is too thick IMO, unless it was the amps i tried them on.

an actual fender strat would be a good idea, since you're experienced with that shape of guitar already.

i started out on a strat look alike as well. then i got an epiphone sg and i loved it. i still occasionally use the strat copy since its my only guitar with a tremolo arm on it.
Go for an epiphone les paul custom.
All mohagony body, all tone.
Weight? It's a log, but the finish and binding will last forever.
It's a great player too.
Get gibson pickups and you're set for a total of about 850.
Please do not insinuate anything sexual from that.

Quote by cobain_is_king
If your friends don't like your guitar, cover it in stickers and it'll be teh rawks!
Quote by Iansmitchell
Go for an epiphone les paul custom.
All mohagony body, all tone.
Weight? It's a log, but the finish and binding will last forever.
It's a great player too.
Get gibson pickups and you're set for a total of about 850.

that'd probably be another reason i didn't like LPs.

if you like high distortion stuff, get humbucking pickups.
Quote by Metallica_Man55
that'd probably be another reason i didn't like LPs.

if you like high distortion stuff, get humbucking pickups.

Oh, in THAT case, the les paul ultra (or ultra-II if you wanna have accoustic too) is pretty similar.
But it's weight relieved with the same system as gibson's custom shop les pauls.
Weight? Under 2.5 pounds. Feels like a feather.

And humbuckers outpreform single coils in nearly every fashion of music.
Not only metal.
But every form of rock sine they've been invented.
Blues, by and large uses humbuckers, save for slide guitarists who have a P90 fetish i n my expirience.