So I'm finally breaking down and learning all the notes high up on the fretboard. I've been playing by ear for 15 years or so, and never bothered to learn the notes (at sight reading speed) besides the 5th and 6th strings. I'm also teaching my roommate to play and figured I'd get him started early on.

Here's a few pictures of my fretboard. It's hard to see in the crappy picture, but each octave is a different color so you can identify which notes are equal and which are octaved.

I did this painstakingly with a hole puncher and a pen. If stickers already exist for this don't tell me because I don't want to know. :-)

Enjoy!

-James

Lol! Nice! I usually do this on paper just to save time... I'll print a blank fret board up and just write in all the notes (sharps and flats too).
█████████████████████████████████████████████
Portugal. The Man »–
It also makes it quite fun to tear through the major scales at high speed. I'll save the idea for later if I ever get stuck learning some odd scale...
lol good job
Very Orange CARVIN DC 700
PRS SE Custom - crunch lab&PAF pro
Ibanez GRX40 - modified
Peavey Valveking 112 w/ 2x12 cab

Originally Posted by Shirate
The guitar, the only beautiful female that looks better with the top ON haha

Transformice
nice! lol i was actually thinking about doing that same thing one day........
just get a reality tv show and then u can make millions being a **** up

MTV Sucks

Quote by hazzmatazz
You think you need help and you don't watch it everyday?

Oh man I'm well and truely on the point of no return then

MY COUSIN IS HOT
Quote by Captain Garry
how did you stick them on

I went to target looking for small stickers with letters on them, but I didn't find any.

These started life as large rectangular stickers, like you'd label something with. I then took the stickers and cut out circles with a hole puncher. Once on the fretboard, I labeled the notes. It took an hour or two but I was in good company with a beer so it was fun.

-J