Hi guys,

I have been playing the guitar for 10 years on and off, I am not very good but I do enjoy it, so much so that I am sick of playing on a s@#t guitar and would like to get a decent one.

I would like something to last me a long time but dont know where to start??

Hoped you might be able to give me feedback, so far I have considered a Maton.

also - is there much risk in getting a second hand guitar?

Thanks in advance

Damo
Last edited by Damolitions at Nov 18, 2009,
by an electric, they pwn
Gear:

Gibson Les Paul Vixen
Ibanez RG7321
Cort G210
Epiphone Les Paul 1956 Goldtop
Laboga Mr. Hector
Randall 4x12
Boss MT 2
Boss BD 2
Boss DD3
Korg Pitchblack
well there are alot of guitars that cost more than $1200. do you have like a budget?
consider taylors 314CE series and up, Breedlove Pro series, and maybe Martins HD or DR series. it all depends on your preference.

and if youre getting a second hand guitar, then make sure it was in good condition, like was it kept in a humidity controlled room and etc.
Epiphone Les Paul Classic
Marshall MG100DFX *SOLD* REPLACED WITH PEAVEY CLASSIC 30
Boss GT-8
Breedlove AD/25 SR Plus

I'm TOOcool for sigs
Get a used guitar, the more scratches the better. That way you will get it for hundreds cheaper. Also if you decide you don't like the guitar, you can sell back without taking a huge loss and might even make $100. Most people are afraid of ebay when it comes to guitar buying, but the allure of getting a $2000 guitar for $1200 is too much for me to pass up. If you live in the US where the economy is realllllly ****ty, lots of people are selling things to pay the bills. There are lots of great deals on used guitars, you just have to look....
Quote by minixmin
well there are alot of guitars that cost more than $1200. do you have like a budget?
consider taylors 314CE series and up, Breedlove Pro series, and maybe Martins HD or DR series. it all depends on your preference.