I was just wondering, I've been playing guitar off and on for about 2 years. I've been really seriously playing in the past 5 months. So, my question is, what do you think it takes for someone to go from 'beginner' to 'intermediate' and then 'advanced'. I welcome any opinions.
Those are just labels. They hold no real meaning. I'm sure what one person would call advanced is what another would call beginner. It's all just how a person interprets their self.

To me, if you can play a handful of scales and hold a decent vocabulary of chords, then you're average... again though... that's an interpretation.
Currently reading:

Crime and Punishment
The Age of Reason
Little Dorrit

"Illegitimis nil carborundum"
It's kinda like when people say "Oh, you play guitar? Are you good?" You really don't know how to answer. That's always weird. You don't wanna say yes and sound arrogant, and you don't wanna say no, because then people will think you suck.
"When I was a kid I inhaled frequently. That was the point."
It's a hard question to answer because everyone has a different intrepretation of what a begining, intermediate and advanced player is. Secondly, everyone learns at a different rate. We can talk about goals however. First year goals could include, knowing all the basic chords and being able to transistion smoothly between them, starting barre chords, being able to sight read music in first position and maybe a few simple songs. Second year, some theory with pentitonic major and minor scales, some basic improve on those scales and a few songs with strumming and melody. If you can make it through all of that, then you have by my definition achieved intermediate status. Follow that up with three years of advanced technic and scales and you approach advanced. That is my five year plan, I'm finishing up my first year.
There is so much to learn when it comes to guitar and especially music.

Just tell them you're you've been playing for about two years but you're still learning.