I've been playing acoustic for a little over 6 months now and I'm planning on jamming with some friends and getting an electric.. I don't wanna be amazing on the electric but I'd like to play rhythm when we all get together.. I was wondering how big a gap is there between acoustic and electric and some things I need to keep in mind? I've been trying to get the hang of power chords because I never really played them much on the acoustic - is there anything else I need to be aware of?

Also does anyone have any tips or suggestions on using a pick, because I never really used a pick much on the acoustic?
Last edited by kursewerd at Jun 18, 2008,
I actually started on acoustic and then later switched to electric (about 5 years ago). I thought it was very easy to make the switch, because electric guitars are generally much easier to play than acoustics. That being said, you have to pay much closer attention to your style and technique with electric, because every little thing you do comes through loud and clear.
"Sleep with one eye open,
Gripping your pillow tight"

Metallica - "Enter Sandman"
Here's how I learned to hold a pick.
Make a fist.
Put your thumb on the side and loosen you hand.
Put the pick right under your thumb.

If you grip it like that, you should be ok. As far as the learning curve, electric should actually be a little easier on you, imho
CURRENT RIG:
Gibson SG Special Faded 3PU w/ SD pups
Epi LP Special II
Mesa/Boogie Maverick 2x12 combo
Ernie Ball Wah
Blackout Effectors Fix'd Fuzz V3 Dlx
Fulltone ChoralFlange
Roland Micro Cube
Quote by i8ababy
I actually started on acoustic and then later switched to electric (about 5 years ago). I thought it was very easy to make the switch, because electric guitars are generally much easier to play than acoustics. That being said, you have to pay much closer attention to your style and technique with electric, because every little thing you do comes through loud and clear.

+1