How hard is it? Like, Since I have like 5 years experience in electric guitar, would it be easier for me to convert to bass? What are some tricks/tips to help since technically I'd be a "beginner" in the instrument?
+1 bass is fun, ive tryed them out a few times, more freedom and slapping is dope, thicker strings etc.. just all round fun.

tips, give us them.
There are about 5 million other topics like this, but at least you actually accepted that bass is different, which a lot of Guitar Player's don't. I would advise searching the forum though, the answer is already out there.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
I wouldn't say it's easier or harder. Its.... different. It's two different approaches to making music. I will say alot of guitarists try to hide their sub-par understanding of rhythm by playing fast. That won't work on bass.
Gear:

Fender Mexi Fat Strat
2005 Taylor 614ce

Fender MIM J-Bass Fretless
it would depend - are you going to learn to play with your fingers or a pick?

if you are going to play with a pick it would be easier for you to learn since the hand motion would already be known - but i'd recommend you learn to play finger style so not only would you learn a new instrument but a new playing style as well.

that may be harder at first because you fingers might not be used to moving alternately (and are probably still soft)
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Green Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination

Member - Geddy Lee Fan Club -

Hartke 4x10, 400W VX cab
Hartke HA3500 350W head

Squire Custom JAZZ Bass (Midnight Blue)
Last edited by 3_D at Jun 19, 2008,
Quote by silvercheeze
I didn't think it was too hard when I started bass a year or 2 ago. Ya just gotta train your fingers to stretch further and whatnot.