Page 1 of 2
Hiyas all. I just bought my first guitar 2 days ago, Ibanez RGT6. Then, I called around town looking for an instructor to kickstart my journey in the "mysteries of the geetar". While I was doing so, I actually had 3 of them explain that at my age, it would hamper me too much to be worth the time invested to teach.

Now, I am not that old, only clocking in at 41. I have no musical experience at all, other than an ex-girlfriend once showing me how to play the opening riff to iron man way back in high school. With that said, I admit to feeing a bit peeved about the response to my inquiry. I am curious if there would be any valid reasons to not wanting to take on a totally new student who is a little more "seasoned" than some.
Also, are there any techniques to get over certain hurdles of being a little bit older, ie. stiffer joints, less flexablility in the muscles, etc.. Thanks
man forget about them teachers, they sound like dickheads. if you want to pick it up then do so. i fully commend you for it! if noone accepts to give you lessons then you can always try learning yourself, it's really not that hard to pick up once you have the thirst for it.

good luck!

edit: my dad only started playing when he was about 48, with half paralysed fingers and all sorts of ailments, and he's pretty good now, so no, you're not too old
Yeah , if you want to learn then you should. if your fingers are giving you problems you could learn some warm up exercises to loosen them up
Hey man. The teachers you approached appear to be patronising morons and it's not true what they said in the slightest. Your fingers might be a little stiffer than that of a 14 year old but not enough to warrant them not teaching you. My dad started playing bass at around 45 so it's just nonesense.