Page 1 of 3
Ok, so here's my deal: about 10 years ago I bought an Ibanez acoustic and started learning how to play. Took a few lessons, didn't get very far, put the guitar away and forgot about it for a long time.

Recently though I've picked it back up and have been seriously enjoying it. Restrung it, bought some music books, and I've been working on it for several hours a day. I'm still a total noob and I still stuck; hell I'm still working out the first-position notes and my chord transitions are just horrible, but I'm having fun and I want to continue.

Anyway, I'm seriously wanting an electric guitar now and I've always admired and liked the sound of Stratocasters. I'm really close to pulling the trigger on a new American Standard HSS Strat.

So, is it nuts for a sucky beginning player to make a leap like this? Would this make me a poser?

I'm 42 years old, I know what I like, I can afford it, and I don't want to make a purchase that I'd later regret. I don't want to spend $400 on a cheaper guitar but find myself always wishing I had bought the MIA real deal.

Any thoughts, flames, validation, or condemnation on this for a noob?
Pfft.. it's a midlife crisis. Splurge your ass off, but be sure to buy a nice amp as well. An MIA Strat through a Spider or a Fender Frontman is blasphemy.
if money is not a issue........buy it. keep playin and best of luck to you!
make sure your amp is just as good as the guitar.
buy a good amp first then get the MIA strat.
Guitar:
Schecter Omen 6 (Dimarzio X2N & Tone Zone)
Amps:
Engl Fireball
Genz Benz G-Flex 2x12 Cab
I would just get a Strat standard in HSS configuration, I mean you could spend $1000 dollars on an american strat but you will still get years of enjoyment out of the $400 version. Ive been playing for 13 years and i cant even afford one! Lucky....... but if it will make you happy why not.
dont get a fender
get a gibson there way better
and do your self a favor and buy the randy rhoads marshall