Hello UGers's. I'll start right off the bat and explain that I have been a self taught guitarist since I started playing( 7 months now) and I've begun to solo but I have one problem. I have no idea how to make it sound right. To make matters worse I have no musicial notation or scale knowledge besides a Minor and Major pentatonic, and the only solo's I actually know that contain bits and pieces of these scales is The Four Horsemen and Paranoid(which started me off on soloing). I have no idea what chords or notes I'm playing considering I learned from tabs, so Im a rather mess of a guitar player. Is there any tips you guys could share with me or some tutorials or what not that would really help me out? If so I'd really appreciate that, thanks.
Quote by Bloodskull
Hello UGers's. I'll start right off the bat and explain that I have been a self taught guitarist since I started playing( 7 months now) and I've begun to solo but I have one problem. I have no idea how to make it sound right. To make matters worse I have no musicial notation or scale knowledge besides a Minor and Major pentatonic, and the only solo's I actually know that contain bits and pieces of these scales is The Four Horsemen and Paranoid(which started me off on soloing). I have no idea what chords or notes I'm playing considering I learned from tabs, so Im a rather mess of a guitar player. Is there any tips you guys could share with me or some tutorials or what not that would really help me out? If so I'd really appreciate that, thanks.

Learning some basic theory would be a huge help, obviously - I'd recommend this forum's theory sticky and The Complete Idiot's Guide to Music Theory.

BGC will come by and recommend the theory link in her signature. Read that too.
Well, buy a blues theory book and a classical theory book. Books always help. And they usually cost only $10.