Heya my mate is wanting to start guitar. And needs a guitar and amp, now Ive been playing five years hear in the UK so Im not a complete noob. But likes stuff like the kaiser cheifs, bit of maiden, some RATM, and other newish soft rock acts. So I was thinking of recommending him squire affinity strat, as i used to have one and people slag of squire, but my affinity would challenge a MIM fender anyday with a pup swap. But maybe you guys could make some sensible suggestions, bearing in mind hes not a metal nut really, more soft rock. As for an amp I was thinking maybe a vox AD, because they dont sound quite as sterile as the cubes and as he doesnt need crushing tight distortion I think he would get more out of a AD by vox. I know someone is going to say tell him to get a little 5w valve amp, but I dont think for a starter it is worth the hassle bearing in mind he might give it up anyway.

Also do you think a semi hollowbody might suit him better than a solid body? Maybe something along the lines of a dot (kaiser chiefs) or maybe an artcore
Music is the holy grail, sod wine water and the blood of jesus
well your right about the amp. he'll definitely get good tone and versatility out of the ad.
as for a guitar he should look into getting a epiphone les paul possibly. they are great and can get a good soft rock sound to ratm.
Guitars:
'13 MIM Fender Strat - '05 Epi G-400
Amps:
Fender HRD - VHT Special 6 Ultra -
Jet City JCA20H - Mesa Rectifier 2x12
Pedulz:
Slash Wah - OCD v1.7 - Red Llama MKII -
Big Muff Pi - Carbon Copy - Phase 90 - Ditto Looper
I wouldn't start out on a hollowbody, and yes you're right with the Vox. There's no point in getting a beginner a 5w tube amp. As they don't have the ear to tell the difference anyway, it's better to have some effects to toy around with. Look into some Yamahas as well, some of them are considerably better than squiers, even though I'm actually quite happy with mine (mind you I pumped about €200 of upgrades into it).