Hey folks, I have been playing acoustic for about 6 months (just got electric this week), am self-taught and think I am getting pretty decent so far. I am beginning to work on scales, studying music theory and keeping myself pretty balanced in my learning. I have a few challenges I hope ya good people can help with:

1. I can't seem to get harmonics right at all. If I barre for example the 7th or 12th fret and strum (of course barring here = lightly touching I mean) I can hear the harp-like sounds of the harmonics, but individually just trying to play notes I can't do them right. Any tips or videos to recommend for help?

2. Even if I have a little solo fully memorized, I can't play it smoothly without going through it at least 2-3 times, then I can do it nice all the way through. Am I just asking too much of myself so soon into my guitar playing, is this fine and normal at this point?

3. Having just gotten the electric, it feels real wierd to stand up and play, I'm so used to sitting of course-- it's tough as I feel I have to curve my hand up more around the neck than when sitting. Should I practice standing up to learn this way or will it just sink in after some time?

4. I find it really difficult to pick from the G to D string (like the beginning of the Black Dog solo with the little riff done a few times), I keep finding my pick just pressed against the string, it won't pluck the dang thing Does this come with time/strength/etc. or should I be aware of some technique(s)?

Thanks a lot for any help folks!
whoa, thats alot of stuff you want to learn lol. ive been playin for about a year, and ive only just got harmonics (artificial and natural lol) perfect. and practice playing standing up, you'll get used to it. thats the best way. just play standing up.
STEAM: beachhhhhhhh

Quote by cornmancer
Please daddy, just for one hour.