Ususally i would just use down strokes, it was a bad habit i gained when I started. This morning I started learning to alternate pick. It has helped me alot espescially with speed. Well I decided I may as well just try and strum up and down. It works better too. Only problem is when I strum, The pick gets caught on the strings and sometimes it stops or just makes the chord so each string is its own note instead of one. Am I holding the pick wrong, Too tight, Too thick of a pick, Too thin, or what? Usually I use .6 and .73 mm picks and hold it with my index and thumb with a little less than half the pick sticking out past the very e nds of my index finger.
Ibanez RG270
Switch Wild I
Strat Copy

ProCo Rat Vintage RI
Dunlop Crybaby
Ibanez FZ7 Fuzz
Danelectro DJ-6 Phaser
Just practice. You should be able to strum with any gauge at all.
Quote by lespaul#1
Indie stands for Industrial I think, like Marilyn Manson.

Ibanez RG2EX2 (Dimarzio Breed in bridge)
Epiphone Les Paul 100
Laney LV300T
Line 6 Toneport GX

The Falling Object Model
ok i got two opposite answers, push harder and hold less firm
Ibanez RG270
Switch Wild I
Strat Copy

ProCo Rat Vintage RI
Dunlop Crybaby
Ibanez FZ7 Fuzz
Danelectro DJ-6 Phaser
Try holding it softer, it worked for me when I first started. Also try slow timed beats, like, 1,2,3,4 ect. It may be good for you to get a metronome, best thing you can do for yourself.
My cancer spot is much bigger than yours

Quote by HumBucker666
I get carrot skinned regularly by a electrified carrot skinning device

Quote by GrEgUms1991
I have a small penis if that counts?

^ some pretty awesome sh!t ( click )

Europeans Unite!
strum with your wrist and swing it back and forth. Try to hit the strings in a semi-circle motion
If Rock is a life-style, then Metal's an addiction

Yelloooow!

Of The

UG Challenge