Page 1 of 2
hey guys, I picked up a Herbert a couple weeks ago, like some of you guys have already seen in the halfstack thread. Wanted to wait a bit before giving my initial impressions. I'm not very good at reviews. But I'll post some impressions.

I'll say off the bat, it's taking me some time to dial in a sound I really like. It sounded kind of farty and buzzy right out of the box, so I was pretty shocked so many people dig this amp.

I found a bad preamp tube though, lol, the V1 had some issues, maybe from the trip over here. It took a while to get here through customs and everything. The stock TAD EL34 were biased a little cold too, they were at 54, 55, and 57 for the 3 pairs. I bumped it up to the recommended range in the manual, and that helped quite a bit.

Now that I've had it a couple weeks, I'm liking it a lot. I go to play my other amps now, and I'm finding I'm much more picky, lol. I've found I can dial in sounds that are pretty close to what my other amps can do as far as metal tones. I'll also say, that if you don't really care for clips of this amp on Diezel's site, you probably won't like it in person. It's a very close representation of what the amp can do without a bunch of mastering. This can be a good or bad thing depending on your taste, some people like a more raw sound. I'm really liking what it can do in person though, it can also get a lot more aggressive than I imagined.

The clean channel is pretty insane for a high gainer. I wasn't expecting much, just a good clean, but it surprised me quite a bit. Has a lot of chime, yet still keeps a warm quality about it. Hard to compare it to any of the established clean amps out there. I've owned a few amps that had great cleans, and this hangs right with them.