I would really like to learn, is there a free tutorial site or an easy method of practicing the guitar? I have no knowledge of the basics. Please help.

Also: I have an acoustic guitar, an Ashton.
If you're on here, you're on the right track.
If you want to teach yourself, like so many others do, go to youtube, and watch some guitar players. Watch everything they do, and slowly do the same thing yourself.
Teach yourself simple songs, play them slow, and speed them up.
Keep practicing!
Quote by leeb rocks
SO I'VE BEEN BALLS DEEP IN MYSELF THIS WHOLE TlME?!?!
Quote by konkordmusk
If you're on here, you're on the right track.
If you want to teach yourself, like so many others do, go to youtube, and watch some guitar players. Watch everything they do, and slowly do the same thing yourself.
Teach yourself simple songs, play them slow, and speed them up.
Keep practicing!

Whatever you do, don't do that.

A fellow by the name of Justin Sandercoe has created some instructional videos that includes a series of videos specifically designed for beginners. It teaches all the basic fundamentals that every guitarist must know.

www.justinguitar.com

Justin seems like a nice guy. The material is excellent, and it's free. But there are several other free websites that teach the fundamentals.
Get a teacher - not an internet one, a RL one. It'll be so much easier since he/she will will help you 1 to 1.
you dont need a teacher, but one will help you learn quicker.

you could try getting a good guitar book,

or check out the lessons ultimate-guitar.com/lessons
I see you're not using the UG black theme

Originally posted by GOD
akm_202, i now announce you, king of awesome. You may bow down to me.
Quote by GraceKim
Whatever you do, don't do that.

A fellow by the name of Justin Sandercoe has created some instructional videos that includes a series of videos specifically designed for beginners. It teaches all the basic fundamentals that every guitarist must know.

www.justinguitar.com